• LAM Policy Forum 2016



    Don't miss our signature event of the year!

    broken image

    Thursday, May 5, 2016

    8:30 am to 6 pm | Lunch included

    At the International House of UChicago


    Reserve your FREE TICKET for the forum in Eventbrite!


    (* Participation to be confirmed)

    08:30                         Registration


    09:00-09:15              Welcome Speeches


    Dr. Daniel Diermeier, Dean of the Harris School of Public Policy

    Mr. Manuel Aragonés, President of Latin American Matters


    09:15-10:30              Panel 1: The Pacific Alliance and Private Sector Engagement


    Dr. Francisco Gil (Mexico), President of Telefónica Mexico and Central America, and former Minister of Finance, Mexico

    Mr. Edgar Vásquez (Peru), Vice Minister of Foreign Trade, Peru

    Moderator: Dr. Ernesto Stein (Argentina), Senior Advisor, Research Department, Inter-American Development Bank


    10:30-10:45               Coffee Break


    10:45-12:00               Panel 2: Social Innovation and Inequality: Policy Making in the 21st Century


    Dr. Gonzalo Hernández (Mexico), Executive Secretary, National Council for the Evaluation of Social Development Policy

    Mr. Miguel Angel Santos (Venezuela), Senior Research Fellow, Center for International Development, Harvard University

    Mr. Milton Von Hesse (Peru), Former Minister of Housing, Construction and Sanitation. Peru

    Moderator: Dr. Alicia S. Menendez (Argentina), Associate Professor, Harris School of Public Policy


    12:00-13:00               Lunch Break (food will be provided)


    13:00-14:15               Panel 3: Conflict Resolution and Peace Making


    Mr. Diego García-Sayán (Peru), former President, Inter-American Court of Human Rights and former Minister of Foreign Affairs

    Ms. Claudia López (Colombia), Senator, Colombia

    Dr. Alejandro Poiré (Mexico), Dean, Graduate School of Government, Tec de Monterrey and Former Minister of Interior

    Dr. Elvira Maria Restrepo (Colombia), Professor, University of Miami, and Special Advisor to President Juan Manuel Santos in Peace Building, Colombia

    Moderator: Mr. Aubrey Fox (United States), Executive Director, Institute for Economics and Peace


    14:15-14:30               Coffee Break


    14:40-15:45               Keynote Speaker


    Mr. César Gaviria (Colombia), former President of Colombia, (1990-1994) and former Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), (1994 – 2004)


    15:45-16:00               Closing Remarks and Official Group Photograph with Speakers


    16:00-18:00               Cinco de Mayo Reception presented by Mexicans at UChicago



    broken image


    broken image


    broken image